Press Release

"Connect A School Connect A Community" ITU Assistance Project 2011 Distribution of ICT Equipment to Schools, Akuressa Education Zone, Matara May 3, 2011

A constructive proposal made by Mr. S.H.S. Maduranga, an undergraduate of the University of Sri Jayawardenapura, to the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), while attending an ITU Telecom Asia 2008 held in Bangkok, Thailand in 2008 as a recipient of ITU Youth Forum Fellowship, will be realized shortly at a function to be held on May 3, 2011 at the Akuressa Sisara Reception Hall.

ITU encouraged the ITU Telecom Youth Forum Alumini to undertake projects for promoting usage of ICT in schools and communities rural and remote areas of Sri Lanka in collaboration with its national representative organization in Sri Lanka i.e. Telecommunications Regulatory Commission (TRCSL).

Under the proposal conceived by Mr. S.H.S Maduranga and now being implemented via a project assisted by ITU, 25 sets of PCs, Printers and UPSs to the value of Rs. 2,700,000/= will be provided to 25 schools located in the Akuressa Education Zone, Matara District. Computer Tables and Chairs will be donated by the S L S Sunil Development Foundation and the Kamburupitiya Kodithuwakku Development Foundation. Two Licensed operators, Mobitel (Pvt) Ltd and Dialog Axiata have undertaken to supply Internet facilities for the schools at concessionary rates.

With the assistance of the Ministry of Education and Intel EM Limited Sri Lanka, an ICT Teachers "Intel Teach" training programme will be inaugurated in the afternoon of May 3rd at the aforesaid venue. The "Intel Teach" Program is intended to help teachers to become more effective by training them to develop skills relating to the integration of technology into their lessons, promotion of problem solving, critical thinking and collaboration between students.

The distribution of the aforesaid equipment will take place on 03rd May 2011 at the Akuressa Sisara Reception Hall at a function organized by the Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka and the Akuressa Zonal Education Office under the distinguished patronage of Hon Chandima Rasaputra, Minister of Education Southern Province, Mr. H G Sirisena, Former Chief Minister of the Southern Province, Dr. Eun Ju Kim, Director, Regional Office, International **Telecommunications** Union, Mr. Sameer Sharma, Senior Advisor, International Telecommunications Union, Mr. S Sahabandu, President Counsellor, Member of the Telecommunications Regulatory Commission, Mr. Dammika Weerasekera, Director of Akuressa Education Zone, Chairman of the S L S Sunil Development Foundation, Chairman of the Kamburupitiya Kodithuwakku Development Foundation, Mr. Indika De Zoyza, Country Manager, Intel EM Limited Sri Lanka and other distinguished invitees.

The following schools will receive ITU assistance and 'Intel Teach' Training Program facilities:

- 01. Matara / Bobagoda, Sugeeswara Maha Vidyalaya
- 02. Matara / Nimalawa Kanitu Vidyalaya
- 03. Matara / Diyalape Kanitu Vidyalaya
- 04. Matara / Dediyagala Kanitu Vidyalaya
- 05. Matara /Ihala Maliduwa Kanitu Vidyalaya
- 06. Matara /Dolamawatha Kanitu Vidyalaya
- 07. Matara / Kohogoda Kanitu Vidyalaya
- 08. Matara / Ganhela Kanitu Vidyalaya
- 09. Matara Kanahelagama Kanitu Vidyalaya
- 10. Matara /Thalahagama Kanitu Vidyalaya
- 11. Matara / Maliduwa Kanitu Vidyalaya
- 12. Matara /Maramba Kanitu Vidyalaya
- 13. Matara /Thalahagama Primary School
- 14. Matara /Bopagoda Kanitu Vidyalaya
- 15. Matara / Akurugoda Senani Kanitu Vidyalaya
- 16. Matara / Weliketiya Kanitu Vidyalaya

- 17. Matara / Denipitiya Model Kanitu Vidyalaya
- 18. Matara / Dampella Kanitu Vidyalaya
- 19. Matara /Sulthanagoda Kanitu Vidyalaya
- 20. Matara /Sulthanagoda Maha Vidyalaya
- 21. Matara /Horagoda Alhudha Kanitu Vidyalaya
- 22. Matara / Penetiyana Saddhatissa Kanitu Vidyalaya
- 23. Matara / Makuluwalahena Kanitu Vidyalaya
- 24. Matara /Galpamuna Kanitu Vidyalaya
- 25. Matara / Yahamulla Kanitu Vidyalaya
- 26. Matara/Hulandawa Tamil Vidyalaya
- 27. Matara/ Poraba Kanitu Vidyalaya
- 28. Matara /Godapitiya Sadath Maha Vidyalaya
- 29. Matara /Porathota Sri Medankara Maha Vidyalaya
- 30. Matara /Paraduwa Adarsha Kanitu Vidyalaya
- 31. Matara/ Lenama Kanitu Vidyalaya

Anusha Palpita

Director - General